回到頂部

Transition Networks 由 Lantronix, Inc. 全資擁有。

Transition Networks

用於高級流量管理的光纖連接案例研究

作為縣高級交通管理系統更新的一部分,Lantronix 在近 500 個交通信號上實現光纖連接

公司類型: 政府
總部: 美國中西部
部署的 Lantronix 產品: CWDM Mux / Demux

概括

中西部一個大縣需要更新其交通信號通信基礎設施,以將攝像機和其他通信系統連接到縣道路上的450多個交通信號中。縣的困境?以高昂的成本安裝一個相當大的光纖網絡,或者尋找另一種可以帶來相似結果的解決方案。該縣選擇了替代解決方案,並選擇了CWDM Mux / Demux和Add / Drop Mux。該解決方案每英里可節省數千美元,同時仍可實現直接光纖連接的優勢。

Fiber Connectivity for Traffic Systems

挑戰

在一個人口超過100萬的中西部城市縣,交通運輸官員開始出現令人不安的情況:交通擁堵加劇,通勤時間長,交通條件不安全。為了緩解這些問題,縣官員決定對縣的交通系統進行現代化改造。

作為該計劃的一部分,該縣計劃通過建立光纖網絡以將攝像機和其他通信系統連接到縣道路上的450多個交通信號燈來更新其交通信號通信基礎設施。隨著交通攝像頭分辨率的提高和收集更多數據,更高帶寬的網絡對於處理額外的數據負載以及從光信號到控制中心的距離至關重要。光纖網絡將允許每個交通信號進行通信,並將實時交通狀況傳輸到本地運營中心,以改善信號定時並改善總體交通流量。

但是,購買和安裝光纖電纜很昂貴。光纖必須壓接,並且需要昂貴且費時的地下挖溝來鋪設電纜。最大限度地減少網絡所需的新光纖數量對於使項目保持在預算之內至關重要。

解決方案

該縣決定通過選擇 Lantronix 粗波分複用 (CWDM) 復用器/解復用器、分插復用器設備和 CWDM SFP 來利用其現有的光纖基礎設施,以實現其光纖連接。

CWDM是一種波分複用(WDM)技術,它通過使用不同的光波長將多個光信號傳輸到單個光纖對上。它可以通過獨特的波長發送數據,以通過光纖對電纜同時傳輸。

CWDM是利用現有光纖佈線的一種經濟高效的方法,因為它使用波長之間的納米通道間隔,從而可以傳輸更多數據。

Lantronix 的 CWDM Mux / Demux和Add / Drop Mux光學設備 允許使用現有光纖基礎設施擴展容量,並提供可擴展性以增加光纖容量而幾乎不增加成本,甚至不增加成本。這些設備可以在現有的雙工光纖上傳輸高速和多種協議,而無需進行配置或使用公用電源。

Lantronix 解決方案

Lantronix CWDM SFP收發器 提供了一種經濟高效且靈活的方式來適應網絡的發展變化並提供1G至10G的速度。 SFP符合多源協議(MSA),可確保與所有其他符合MSA的網絡設備的互操作性。

CWDM模塊 可提供4通道,8通道或16通道多路復用/多路分配器模塊,支持可選的分插功能和現有光纖鏈路上每通道高達10 Gbps的可擴展帶寬。這些模塊是即插即用的,不需要配置CWDM組件,並且可以使用交換機和路由器上的現有標準光學端口。這些模塊支持廣泛的溫度範圍(-20至70℃)。

結果

Lantronix CWDM Mux 系統提供了一種簡單且經濟實惠的方法來最大化該縣的傳輸光纖容量。通過實施 CWDM SFP 和 CWDM Mux 設備,該縣可以使用一對光纜並在多達 16 個不同的位置分出波長,從而大大減少了所需的光纜建設量。

Lantronix 設備到位後,該縣可以使用最少的光纖電纜設計其網絡。 Lantronix 的解決方案每英里可節省數千美元,同時仍能在每個交通信號處實現直接光纖連接的好處,以確保有效和安全的交通系統,有助於緩解擁堵並減少安全隱患。

多年來,我已經在客戶安裝中使用Transition Networks的產品。我一直發現他們的產品,客戶服務,銷售和技術支持是一流的。我什至不會考慮使用其他品牌。

IT解決方案提供商的高級項目經理

關閉

向分銷商索取報價

我們的產品通過我們的全球合作夥伴網絡出售。請在下面索取報價,我們的網絡專家將協助報價流程,以確保您與合適的合作夥伴一起獲得所需的產品和解決方案。

對於超過$2,000的大型項目,我們可以提供特別折扣價
您要處理報價的分銷商或轉銷商的名稱。要了解有關您所在地區的合作夥伴的更多信息,請查看我們的 如何購買頁面

該產品已成功添加到您的報價中。

點擊此處查看您的報價。

您的報價已成功創建!

點擊此處查看您的報價。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

產品 數量

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

您的報價請求已成功提交。

您將很快收到一封確認電子郵件,以方便報價過程。如果您想保存請求的報價, 登錄 或者 創建一個帳戶.

錯誤

處理您的報價時出錯。請刷新頁面,然後重試。

要求報價...
諮詢專家

Back to Top

Fiber Connectivity for Advanced Traffic Management Case Study

Transition Networks Enables Fiber Optic Connectivity at Nearly 500 Traffic Signals as Part of County’s Advanced Traffic Management System Update

Company Type: Government
Headquarters: Midwestern United States
Transition Networks Products Deployed: CWDM Mux/Demux

Summary

A large Midwest county needed to update its traffic signal communications infrastructure to connect cameras and other communications systems to over 450 traffic signals on county roads. The county’s dilemma? Install a sizeable fiber-optic network at significant cost or find another solution that would deliver similar results. The county chose an alternative solution and selected CWDM Mux/Demux and Add/Drop Mux. This solution will save thousands of dollars per mile while still achieving the benefits of a direct fiber connection.

Fiber Connectivity for Traffic Systems

Challenge

In one urban upper Midwest county boasting more than 1 million residents, transportation officials began to see a troubling pattern: increasing traffic congestion, long commute delays, and unsafe driving conditions. To alleviate these problems, county officials decided to modernize the county’s transportation system.

As part of the initiative, the county planned to update its traffic signal communications infrastructure by building a fiber-optic network to connect cameras and other communications systems to over 450 traffic signals on county roads. As traffic camera resolutions improve and collect more data, higher-bandwidth networks are essential to handle additional data load and the distance from the light signal to the control center. A fiber-optic network would allow for each traffic signal to communicate and transmit real-time traffic conditions to local operations centers to enable improved signal timing and better overall traffic flow.

However, purchasing and installing fiber optic cabling is expensive. Fiber must be crimped and requires costly and time-consuming underground trenching to lay the cabling. Minimizing the amount of new fiber needed for the network was critical to keep the project under budget.

The Solution

The county decided to capitalize on its existing fiber infrastructure by selecting Transition Networks Coarse Wavelength Division Multiplexing (CWDM) Mux/Demux, Add/Drop Mux devices and CWDM SFPs to enable its fiber-optic connectivity.

CWDM is a wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) technology that transmits multiple optical signals onto a single fiber pair by using different wavelengths of light. It can send data via unique wavelengths for simultaneous transmission over fiber pair cables.

CWDM is a cost-effective method to capitalize on existing fiber cabling because it uses the nanometer channel spacing between wavelengths, allowing more data to be transmitted.

Transition Networks’ CWDM Mux/Demux and Add/Drop Mux optical devices allow for expanded capacity using existing fiber infrastructure and provides the scalability to grow fiber capacity with little or no increased cost. The devices can transmit high speeds and multiple protocols over an existing duplex fiber with no configuration or utility power necessary.

Transition Networks Solutions

Transition Networks CWDM SFP transceivers offer a cost-effective and flexible means to accommodate network modifications for growth and provide 1G to 10G speeds. The SFPs are Multi-Sourcing Agreement (MSA) compliant, ensuring interoperability with all other MSA-compliant networking devices.

The CWDM modules are available as 4-channel, 8-channel, or 16-channel mux/demux modules, supporting an optional add/drop capability and a scalable bandwidth of up to 10 Gbps per channel over existing fiber links. The modules are plug-and-play, requiring no configuration of CWDM components, and can use existing standard optical ports on switches and routers. The modules support a wide temperature range (-20 to 70◦C).

Results

Transition Networks CWDM Mux systems provide a simple and affordable method to maximize the county’s transportation fiber capacity. By implementing the CWDM SFP and CWDM Mux devices, the county can take one fiber cable pair and drop a wavelength at up to 16 different locations, dramatically reducing the amount of fiber cable construction needed.

With the Transition Networks equipment in place, the county can engineer its network with a minimal fiber optic cable. Transition Networks’ solution will save thousands of dollars per mile while still achieving the benefits of a direct fiber connection at each traffic signal to ensure an efficient and safer traffic system that helps alleviate congestion and reduces safety hazards.

For more information on Transition Networks’ CWDM solutions, connect with our experts:

Chat with our Experts
tel: +1.952.941.7600 sales@transition.com Chat with
toll free: 1.800.526.9267 techsupport@transition.com Our Experts
fax: 952.941.2322 customerservice@transition.com

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider

Close

Request a Quote from Distribution

Our products are sold through our worldwide network of partners. Request a quote below and our network experts will facilitate the quoting process ensuring you get the products and solutions you need with the right partner for you.

For large projects over $2,000, we can provide special discounted pricing
Name of the distributor or reseller that you would like to process your quote. To learn more about our partners in your area, view our How to Buy Page

This product has been successfully added to your quote.

Click here to view your quote.

Your quote has been successfully created!

Click here to view your quote.

Edit Products - Edit Details

Your quote does not contain any products yet.

Edit Products - Edit Details

Product Quantity

Your quote does not contain any products yet.

Your quote request has been successfully submitted.

You will receive a confirmation email shortly to facilitate the quoting process. If you’d like to save your requested quote, log in or create an account.

Error

There was an error with processing your quote. Please refresh the page and try again.

Requesting quote...
Ask the Experts