回到頂部

Transition Networks 由 Lantronix, Inc. 全資擁有。

Transition Networks

東南公用事業

東南部的一家電力公司部署了Transition Networks工業以太網交換機,在其整個系統的變電站中提供光纖通信。
公司類型: 公用事業
總部: 美國東南部
部署的過渡網絡產品: INDURA™加固以太網交換機

 

客戶總覽

客戶是美國東南部的一家大型電力公司。它提供了數千英里的電力,為大約450萬客戶提供服務。它的電信網絡將1,000多個變電站,發電廠和其他關鍵站點連接到其主要和備用控制中心,並利用各種聯網技術。其網絡戰略的關鍵部分是從租用服務轉向自己的光纖電信設施。 Transition Networks已被選為支持其光纖設施上的變電站通信的主要平台。

2007年的《能源獨立與安全法》確立了實現美國電力系統現代化的目標,並將分配給美國國家標準與技術研究院(NIST)的首要責任協調了這一新框架的發展,以實現新技術網格設備的互操作性和現有系統。該公用事業公司是定義新的“智能”網絡的積極合作夥伴,並且正處於為期多年的全州光纖和租賃服務部署之中,以提供到該地區的變電站和其他設施的寬帶連接。正如NIST和NERC / CIP所概述的那樣,新的網絡技術提供了卓越的可靠性和安全性,這對於公用事業選擇網絡產品以構建21世紀最先進的公用事業網絡是一項關鍵要求和挑戰。

由於這個大型實用程序的安全性和敏感性,我們必須保護與它的網絡基礎結構及其身份有關的細節。但是,可以根據合格的查詢獲得更詳細的信息。

 

部署解決方案以實現未來增長

新網絡的許多技術實現中的第一個是專門安裝用於安裝變電站和其他關鍵位置的現代最新核心網絡。借助電網改造,改造高可用性網絡以實現關鍵任務通信,這是新一代產品和管理工具在系統範圍內實施的基礎。一旦實現了核心網絡,便開始在變電站內選擇和部署變電站自動化和有源以太網解決方案。新近創新的網絡可以傳輸SCADA(監控和數據採集)信息,以及來自變電站的“智能” IAD / RTU管理/控制分配數據。該實用程序選擇了過渡網絡 INDURA™ 經過加固的以太網IEC61850-3認證的交換機,具有強大的可靠性,高級的安全管理和冗餘的G.8032環網架構。

“我們將Transition Networks視作供應商。他們的產品的功能和性能給我們留下了深刻的印象,他們的支持和願意與我們合作增加功能或解決問題的能力也給我們留下了深刻的印象。”
東南電力公司,電信副總裁

 

Power Utility部署過渡網絡工業以太網變電站交換機

去年,第一個INDURA™變電站項目啟動,並部署了一個項目,以確認設計和配置選擇。在成功進行了試點測試之後,現在已經完全部署了超過35個變電站,並可以與INDURA™系統一起使用。在廣泛評估其他供應商的產品之後,該公用事業選擇了Transition Network的INDURA™進行了三到五年的變電站項目。之所以選擇INDURA™,是因為其外形小巧,創新的無風扇設計,變電站IEC61850認證和RFC2544測試功能。該產品還具有先進的操作,管理和監視(OAM)協議(IEEE 802.3ah),可以檢測出故障和性能下降的以太網電路連接,遠程故障信號和環回,包括“垂死的喘息”警報/事件通知。失去動力。電力公司的人員會立即得到通知,並能夠隔離並提供故障檢測和針對網絡與電力有關的事件的快速調度。

INDURA™提供到現場站點的骨干連接以收集配電功率數據。為了提供彈性的故障轉移/冗餘,所有INDURA™交換機都安裝在變電站和辦公室之間的光纖環形拓撲中。這種體系結構為每個變電站和地區辦公室的進出提供了一條有效且受保護的網絡光纖路徑。該實用程序將環網與聚合交換互連,部署了Transition Networks的S4224訪問交換機,該交換機提供了各個環網之間的鏈路冗餘故障轉移。如果工作的光纖網絡路徑發生故障,環網上的所有節點都將在小於50ms的時間內故障轉移到備用光纖網絡路徑。

Power Utiltiy Substation Ring Network
INDURA環形架構圖

 

“ INDURA™已通過IEC 61850-3認證,為需要高可靠性和可用性的工業或室外環境應用提供高級以太網管理,網絡和電源冗餘和安全功能以及堅固的硬件性能。” 
—強化以太網產品經理–過渡網絡John Ragan

Transition Networks還提供可幫助公用事業公司部署安全的物理訪問控制和監視以滿足NERC CIP要求的設備。從預防盜竊到保護知識產權再到管理能源使用,對安全/監視/智能建築網絡的需求在過去十年中急劇增長。這些複雜網絡的數量不僅增加了,而且其地理區域也增加了。 Transition Networks的SISTP1010-380-LRT PoE +工業交換機通過安全攝像機和變電站所在位置的其他設備的有源銅纜接口,提供了光纖到UTP網絡的連接。

Surveillance & Secure Access Configuration
監控和安全訪問配置

 

關於東南電力公司

本案例研究的重點是在美國東南部的特定電力公司中使用INDURA™產品線。根據其安全策略,該實用程序不允許與可公開獲得的文檔中的特定技術選擇相關的自身標識。但是,根據要求,將與其他公用事業或具有類似網絡要求的公司聯繫該公用事業。

 

關於過渡網絡

Transition Networks,Inc.是行業領先者,擁有超過25年的設計光纖集成產品的經驗,這些產品可為當今的網絡提供安全性和可靠性,同時為將來的未來作證明。 Transition Networks提供對多種協議,任何接口和多種硬件平台的支持,包括強化以太網,運營商以太網,CWDM,1G / 10G以太網,SFP,PoE和PoE +,過渡網絡為您提供了通過光纖可靠地交付和管理流量的能力在任何數據網絡中–在任何應用程序中–在任何環境中。 Transition Networks與50多個國家/地區的合作夥伴和客戶建立了良好的關係,成為專注於質量和客戶服務的可靠全球創新者。 Transition Networks是Communications Systems,Inc.的全資子公司,Communications Systems,Inc.是一家上市公司(NASDAQ-GM:JCS),總部位於明尼蘇達州明尼阿波利斯。

有關Transition Networks的加固交換機的更多信息,請訪問 transition.com 或聯繫 sales@transition.com.

 

 

多年來,我已經在客戶安裝中使用Transition Networks的產品。我一直發現他們的產品,客戶服務,銷售和技術支持是一流的。我什至不會考慮使用其他品牌。

IT解決方案提供商的高級項目經理

關閉

向分銷商索取報價

我們的產品通過我們的全球合作夥伴網絡出售。請在下面索取報價,我們的網絡專家將協助報價流程,以確保您與合適的合作夥伴一起獲得所需的產品和解決方案。

對於超過$2,000的大型項目,我們可以提供特別折扣價
您要處理報價的分銷商或轉銷商的名稱。要了解有關您所在地區的合作夥伴的更多信息,請查看我們的 如何購買頁面

該產品已成功添加到您的報價中。

點擊此處查看您的報價。

您的報價已成功創建!

點擊此處查看您的報價。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

產品 數量

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

您的報價請求已成功提交。

您將很快收到一封確認電子郵件,以方便報價過程。如果您想保存請求的報價, 登錄 或者 創建一個帳戶.

錯誤

處理您的報價時出錯。請刷新頁面,然後重試。

要求報價...
諮詢專家

Back to Top

Transition Networks is wholly owned by Lantronix, Inc.

Transition Networks

Southeast Utility

An electric utility in the Southeast deploys Transition Networks Industrial Ethernet Switches providing fiber communications in substations throughout its system.
Company Type: Electrical Utilities
Headquarters: Southeastern United States
Transition Networks Product Deployed: INDURA™ Hardened Ethernet Switches

 

Customer Overview

The customer is a large electric utility in the Southeastern United States. It provides electric power across thousands of miles and serves approximately 4.5M customers. Its telecommunications network connects over 1,000 substations, generation plants and other key sites to its primary and backup control centers and utilizes a variety of networking technologies. A key part of its network strategy is to move from leased services toward its own fiber optic telecommunications facilities. Transition Networks has been selected as the primary platform for supporting substation communications over its fiber optic facilities.

The Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 established a goal to modernize the nation’s electricity system and assigned to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) the primary responsibility to coordinate development of this new frame- work to achieve interoperability of new technology grid devices and existing systems. The utility is an active partner in defining the new “smart” network and is in the midst of a multi-year statewide fiber and leased services deployment to provide broadband connectivity to substations and other facilities in its territory. New network technology provides superior reliability and security, as outlined by NIST and NERC/CIP, and was a key requirement and challenge for the utility in its selection of network products to build a 21st century state-of the-art utility network.

Due to the security and sensitivity of this large utility, we are bound to protect specifics as it relates to its network infrastructure as well as its identity. However, more detailed information can become available based on qualified inquiries.

 

Solutions Deployed for Future Growth

The first of many technology implementations for the new network was the installation and turn-up of a modern state-of-the-art core network exclusively for interconnecting substations and other key locations. Grid modernization leveraging the transformation for a highly available network for mission-critical communications was the foundation for system wide implementation of new generation products and management tools. Once the core network was implemented, selection and deployment of substation automation and active Ethernet solutions within the substations began. The newly innovative network transports SCADA (Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition) information, and “intelligent” IAD/RTU management/control distribution data from substations. The utility selected Transition Networks INDURA™ hardened Ethernet IEC61850-3 certified switch for its robust reliability, advanced secure management and redundant G.8032 ring architecture.

“We value Transition Networks as a vendor. We have been extremely impressed with the capabilities and performance of their products and even more with their support and willingness to work with us to add features or address issues.”
—Southeastern Power Utility, Vice President of Telecommunications

 

Power Utility Deploys Transition Networks Industrial Ethernet Substation Switches

The first INDURA™ substation project was kicked off last year with deployment of a project to confirm design and configuration choices. Following successful pilot testing, over (35) substations are now fully deployed and operational with INDURA™ systems. The utility selected Transition Network’s INDURA™ for a three to five year substation project after an extensive evaluation of other vendor’s products. INDURA™ was selected because of its small form factor, innovative fan-less design, substation IEC61850 certification, and RFC2544 test capabilities. The product also has advanced operational, administration, and monitoring (OAM) protocols (IEEE 802.3ah) that can detect failed and degraded Ethernet circuit connections, remote fault signaling and loop-backs, including “dying gasp” alarm/event notification should there be a loss of power. The utility’s personnel are immediately notified and are able to isolate and provide fault detection and rapid dispatch for network verses power related incidents.

INDURA™ provides backbone connectivity to field sites to collect distribution power data. To provide resilient failover/redundancy, all of the INDURA™ switches are installed in a fiber ring topology between substations and of the offices. This architecture provides a working and protected network fiber path in and out of each substation and regional office. Interconnecting the rings with aggregation switching, the utility deployed Transition Networks’ S4224 access switches, which provide link redundancy fail over between individual rings. Should the working fiber network path fail, all nodes on the ring will failover to the alternate fiber network path within <50ms.

Power Utiltiy Substation Ring Network
INDURA Ring Architecture Diagram

 

“Certified for IEC 61850-3, INDURA™ offers advanced Ethernet management, network and power redundancy and security features coupled with rugged hardware performance for industrial or outdoor environment applications requiring high reliability and availability.” 
—John Ragan, Hardened Ethernet Product Manager – Transition Networks

Transition Networks also provides equipment that assists utilities in deploying secure physical access control and surveillance to meet the NERC CIP requirements. From theft prevention, to protecting intellectual property, to managing energy usage, the demand for security/surveillance/intelligent building networks has increased dramatically over the past decade. Not only have the number of these complex networks increased, but so have their geographic size. Transition Networks’ SISTP1010-380-LRT PoE+ Industrial switches provides the fiber to UTP network connections with the powered-copper interfaces for security cameras, and other equipment at substation locations.

Surveillance & Secure Access Configuration
Surveillance & Secure Access Configuration

 

About Southeast Utility

This case study focuses on the usage of the INDURA™ product line within a specific electric utility in the Southeastern United States. In accordance with its security policies the utility does not allow itself to be identified in connection to specific technology choices in publicly available documents. However, on request, contacts with the utility will be made available to other utilities or companies with similar network requirements.

 

About Transition Networks

Transition Networks, Inc. is an industry leader with over 25 years of experience designing fiber integration products that deliver the security and reliability for today’s networks while future proofing for tomorrow. Offering support for multiple protocols, any interface, and a multitude of hardware platforms, including Hardened Ethernet, Carrier Ethernet, CWDM, 1G/10G Ethernet, SFPs, PoE and PoE+, Transition Networks gives you the power to deliver and manage traffic reliably over fiber in any data network – in any application – in any environment. With partners and customers in over 50 countries, Transition Networks has built a reputation as a reliable global innovator focusing on quality and customer service. Transition Networks is a wholly owned subsidiary of Communications Systems, Inc., a publicly traded company (NASDAQ-GM: JCS), and is based in Minneapolis, MN.

For more information about Transition Networks’ Hardened Switches, please visit transition.com or contact sales@transition.com.

 

 

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider

Close

Request a Quote from Distribution

Our products are sold through our worldwide network of partners. Request a quote below and our network experts will facilitate the quoting process ensuring you get the products and solutions you need with the right partner for you.

For large projects over $2,000, we can provide special discounted pricing
Name of the distributor or reseller that you would like to process your quote. To learn more about our partners in your area, view our How to Buy Page

This product has been successfully added to your quote.

Click here to view your quote.

Your quote has been successfully created!

Click here to view your quote.

Edit Products - Edit Details

Your quote does not contain any products yet.

Edit Products - Edit Details

Product Quantity

Your quote does not contain any products yet.

Your quote request has been successfully submitted.

You will receive a confirmation email shortly to facilitate the quoting process. If you’d like to save your requested quote, log in or create an account.

Error

There was an error with processing your quote. Please refresh the page and try again.

Requesting quote...
Ask the Experts